Announcing a new Tell us what you think and help shape the future
Federal Communications Commission Logo - Click here to go to the FCC home page




Market Areas

Prior to the adoption of geographic licensing in 1997, non-nationwide and exclusive channels licenses were granted on a site-by-site basis. Since 1997, non-nationwide, exclusive paging licenses have been assigned on the basis of Economic Areas (EAs) and Major Economic Areas (MEAs). In 1997, 25 nationwide geographic licenses were awarded. Shared channel licenses continue to be granted on a site-by-site basis.
Map Icon

Maps & Cross References

Map Icon
EA Map (pdf)
Economic Areas
Map Icon
MEA (B) Map (pdf)
Major Economic Areas (Basic)
Return to Top Arrow Return To Top
Last reviewed/updated on